Wandering Canalside – Leeds-Liverpool Canal Walk – Part 3

It’s been ages since my last blog on walking the Leeds-Liverpool Canal. I just didn’t have time or it was raining or stuff just got in the way. A lot’s happened since last year. Jess, my Staffordshire bull terrier, has got a lot older and these long walks are much slower and take a lot longer. It’s sad when you realise that this little old lady’s feeling it, but she still enjoys plodding along through woods, over hills and, of course, along the canal.

This portion of our journey runs from Cottingley, just inside North Yorkshire, back along the canal to Silsden and Steeton. We were’ going to go Steeton & Silsden station all the way to Skipton, about 8-9 miles, but, with it being a bit warm, Jess just wasn’t up for the trek.

If you haven’t read or seen my photos from my previous blods, please click here for Part 1 – Shipley, Saltaire and Bingley or click here for Part 2 – Bingley to Steeton.

Due to time constraints, this blog is just a gallery – a photo dump – and I’ll try and come back and tell you a bit more about my joourney and the canal as it leaves West Yorkshire and enters North. One thing that has changed is that I’ve found Instagram, the photo-sharing site. So, a few photos are duplicated with some having been treated to an Instagram filter makeover.

You can view my route here on iMapMyWalk.com

 

About jatkinson1977

I'm in my 30s and married to Sharon, the beautiful woman who keeps me in check. We live in Shipley, just outside Bradford, with our black lab, Nipper. I'm an English teacher in secondary school and, after working as a Teaching & Learning Consultant with the local authority, have returned to the classroom to become a Lead Professional in English at a large comp in Bradford. I'm also trying to become a little more cultured, especially by seeing what culture's right here on my doorstep in Bradford and West Yorkshire (please see my blog, 'Am I Kulchad Yet?'). I've got a third and final blog which is filled with things that, essentially, don't fit into the other two but are interesting enough to share (please see my blog, 'Things That Occur To Me').
Gallery | This entry was posted in Architecture, Barge, Bradford, Canal, Dog Walk, Industrial, Leeds-Liverpool Canal, Mills, North Yorkshire, Photography, Towpath, Walks, West Yorkshire, Wool, Yorkshire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

