Am I Kulchad Yet?

Bradford Boar Fest, a Bank Holiday weekend of bands, beer and a bit of barminess, has just finished its second run. Can I say I truly experienced it? No. But I did see a couple of great bands on the Sunday night – enough to make sure I’ll see many more next year and in years to come.

Boar Fest: don’t you just love the way members of the Rock and Indie musical fraternity have such a way with words, more so than any Girls Aloud or One Direction PR man who must appeal to the masses and the lowest common denominator could only dream of? A pathetic (from pathos), bathetic pun; an ironic play on words; a link to the city, its past and its mythology; and all in two words – whoever came up with the title, I salute you!

My musical tastes are far heavier…

View original post 1,882 more words

About jatkinson1977

I'm in my 30s and married to Sharon, the beautiful woman who keeps me in check. We live in Shipley, just outside Bradford, with our black lab, Nipper. I'm an English teacher in secondary school and, after working as a Teaching & Learning Consultant with the local authority, have returned to the classroom to become a Lead Professional in English at a large comp in Bradford. I'm also trying to become a little more cultured, especially by seeing what culture's right here on my doorstep in Bradford and West Yorkshire (please see my blog, 'Am I Kulchad Yet?'). I've got a third and final blog which is filled with things that, essentially, don't fit into the other two but are interesting enough to share (please see my blog, 'Things That Occur To Me').
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. E Traven says:

    Very interesting and clear. George Galloway is a member of a political organisation as well as being a MP. Respect and its members and those who voted for it in Bradford and elsewhere make up a new break away strand of labour thought. Bradford is its people. All cities are complex organisms. I am certainly interested in your blog. This is my first visit. I would vote for it if there was a blog award. There is a lot of good reading on the site for me. I hope you keep the comments section free of the morons who are targeting George Galloway. I don’t mind criticism but they are unpleasant and threatening. They fill the comments section of local papers with their hate views. We don’t want to hear them at all. Most of them have no thoughts at all in their heads. They all sound the same. They are worst than sheep. Respect is finding its feet. The coalition partners have been in the politics game for hundreds of years. Labour has been around for 100 years. The three main parties are losing contact with the majority of people. The political system is falling apart.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting, and so kindly. This isn’t a GG post but maybe you don’t want it on there if you’re worried about others commenting. I don’t think anti-GG people are the only ones who are a tad over zealous, especially wheat comes to local rag. I think the T&A comments pages are a minefield for people who just want to share ideas, whether that’s on GG, sport or anything – so few stories and so many trolls 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

