Eduwhinge 2: We know the problem; we know the answer; where’s our solution?

There’s a problem with education in Bradford and across the North. It’s a fact. The problems can be sorted, quite easily. Another fact. When London’s schools were failing, the national government acted and sorted the problem. Another fact. So why isn’t the government acting when it’s our kids failing?

Slide1What I want is to know, simply, why Northern kids’ failure is allowed, is ignored, is tolerated by government after they acted so swiftly a decade ago. Failing education is not a head-scratcher; no new initiative needs to be dreamed up; the answer to the question does not need a huge amount of resources in discovery. All of this has been done before… in London. So when is it our turn? When will the national government see that we need exactly what the South got a decade ago?

Slide1My eduwhinge letters, meetings and calls will try to find out why London’s kids’ failure was an emergency, and why Northern kids’ failure is routine, tolerated and OK.

 If you’d like to join in, write to your council, your MP or someone in government ask them why it’s OK for the country to concentrate on London’s kids but leave ours to rot.

About jatkinson1977

I'm in my 30s and married to Sharon, the beautiful woman who keeps me in check. We live in Shipley, just outside Bradford, with our black lab, Nipper. I'm an English teacher in secondary school and, after working as a Teaching & Learning Consultant with the local authority, have returned to the classroom to become a Lead Professional in English at a large comp in Bradford. I'm also trying to become a little more cultured, especially by seeing what culture's right here on my doorstep in Bradford and West Yorkshire (please see my blog, 'Am I Kulchad Yet?'). I've got a third and final blog which is filled with things that, essentially, don't fit into the other two but are interesting enough to share (please see my blog, 'Things That Occur To Me').
This entry was posted in Bradford, Education, Eduwhinge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment